top of page
Featured Posts

The Chinese Connection

China had invaded Annie’s Kingdom. Ok it wasn’t an invasion…but me and turkey was out numbered..

A young couple from China had arrived. The husband was robuctious, funny and a bit quirky…and the wife, mild, serene but underneath that quiet liner lay the brains of the family. When they arrived, and were taking their bag out of the car, they quickly saw Malaysia. Their introductions were quick but not as ‘strong’ as I had imagined in my kingdom of alliances. I had imagined that they three would bond like no other. It was more like a cordial cold war…polite, quick and everybody in their own corner.

So while the husband was struggling to bring the bag in, the wife asked me on the porch, ‘do you get a lot of guest coming thru here?” I said, ‘well…you just missed Chile and Gypsy, Turkey’s in the back and Ethiopia should arrive tonight”. Her eyes bulked…as big as the neighbors!

The husband replies, ‘let’s just stand here (outside on the porch) and talk for a moment’ as he reached the top of the porch. After about a second, I hear him say under his breath, ‘this is nice this is nice’. Or maybe that’s what I wanted to hear….it was so hot, i may have mistaken it for ‘this is crazy…this is crazy…’

So he asked a few questions and after answering, they were both laughing….and then we proceeded in. They introduced themselves to Turkey and I showed them around. After getting situated, she took her shower and putting on his flip flops, he sat in the common room to watch Tour De france. His wife said he was an addict. When she said that, he told the story as to how they met and married. Then he said, ‘you’ll love it...at least they shave their legs…so you might like watching them”.

I replied, “ unless they are going to fall off a cliff, this is like watching ants race!”

So at one point, he just got excited, stood up and started laughing. I couldn’t help laugh myself. Then he caught himself and said, ‘Ohhhh im sorry…if I’m acting to crazy for everybody (in the house), just let me know!” …..and he was soooo sincere about it.

So I replied in my own toothless way, ‘dude…if you made it this far, to this part of town and you’re staying here….you’re just the crazy we need. You fit right in!”

Both of them fell out laughing …and so the happy couple relaxed from their long journey doing their own thing. I was just hoping nobody revolted that when I turned on two air conditioners since the house continued to go black after 10 minutes…keeping me fit by running up and down the stairs to reset the circuit breaker.

Prior to the Chinese arrival, I had to tell the other guest that were already here, “…when our new guest come, everybody hold their breath and don’t breathe out hot air. I want them to feel comfortable on their first two hours. After that, they on their own! You are no longer guest….you are simply living here!”

I know it was hot that day, but the night was young. I had a house of six YOUNG folks throughout the house trying to breathe in the hot blowing air. The mom in me wanted to make them go to the beach like she did us when our real Parent (COMED) turned out the lights. But no one complained. They retired early like old people to their respective rooms around 10:30. As I passed on room, noticing legs dangling over the bed and trying to breathe! I couldn’t help say, ‘oh well..” cause there was absolutely nothing I could have done in this heat. Part of me was thinking, this couple is going to wake up and say, I’m sorry annie…its just to hot here…we’re going to go somewhere else. Instead, the husband woke up and said , “ it was hot but the bed was nice and comfortable! “ They even had the OVERHEAD BIG FAN OFF!

All was quiet until….

Have you ever watched one of those old Medieval movies…?

The old women walks slowly towards the window after hearing the banging of her rusty silver door knockers clank heavily against the wooden door. With an old oiled lamp in one hand and her squinting eyes she begins to pick up her awkward pace running towards the door when she opens it only to find a a shivering, almost frightful lad standing in the elements of a harsh rain and she quickly remarks, ‘come on in boy come on in….get out of the rain boy!”....while looking around as if someone may have been following him!

Staring at the bewildered she asked, “young man…how did you happen to be here? From whence do you come?” she asked…

And then the boy from Ethiopia replies, “I got off the Halsted train and walked in the wrong direction!” LOLOL

For a moment, I thought I was relaying a movie until I realized that old lady is me! Yes…Ethiopia is in the house! Hehehe

At one in the morning, the doorbell rang and the hot still air was blowing. Standing outside was the scrawny young man and immediately you noticed…yup ….he’s Ethiopian.

But I hurried him inside thinking like the old women…you gonna catch yourself a death out here! LITERALLY.

So he said, ‘is it not safe?” I said, NO PLACE in ANY neighborhood in Chicago is safe by yourself at one in the morning.

I was startled to find that he walked in the area I wouldn't walk in the day! He said he was looking at the google map. I said i gave you directions but he didn't print those out.

So like the racing of the old lady in the movies who would normally offer the guest something to eat, my first offer was not food (since this is not the medival times…) but I did offer him quickly…

“Would you like internet, would you like internet?”

“Yes yes…please. Thank you so much…yes” replied the tired soul.

Afterward, as I saw his disposition become more relaxed, I asked, “would you like some water”….

“Oh yes thank you.” He replied.

Finally I offered some fruit or food…”no thank you…im fine!”

After explaining that his bunk bed had been taken by another lonely traveler, that the couch was still available at $12 a night…he asked, ‘so what is included with my stay”….i said, “you can make yourself at home and have cereal, milk, fresh bought orange juice’. Oh his face lit up and I left him to the internet for him to contact his folks that he arrived safely.

The next morning, quietly handling a business matter, he softly said, ‘Annie, you know…I already feel like I’m at home.

Thank you so much”

Another happy customer.

So off the happy folks left with their free passes, new interview and deep desire to explore this place we call home…sweet home…Chicago!

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page