top of page
Featured Posts

Nonya? Whats an Uncle Tom? WOWSERS

The doorbell rang at 3 p.m. and I jumped up. Discombobulated because i had just drank some vodka and gateraid with a guest last night and failed to have make it upstairs. I stumbled to the door with a blanket over my head and a headache out of this world..... "Hi there! I'm sooo glad I found you!" said Moscow. Thinking i'm dreaming, I said, 'huh?" "My name is (moscow) and I took a chance to find you! The mailman told me you are here!" WHAT?!!! So i let him in and he starts to explain that he had made a reservation at last minute because another host had cancelled his reservation. I didn't answer the request because I had not awaken yet! It turned out that the host was a previous guest of mines that I had kicked out last summer. The other host's roomate had came home and he was trying to sneak guests in. Moscow was left without a place to stay. Moscow went to the chatham area and stayed I think for a night. He continues, "Since I didn't hear from you (due to my hangover), I looked you up online and saw your video with the police. Then I saw that you were by a park. So I left my bags at my other host, and took a chance and said to myself, somebody must know where you are. I saw the mailman and asked him if there is a lady that does airbnb on this block and he said, 'yeah, 6439....'...and i soooo happy to found you! Otherwise, i was just going to go stay at the airport and sleep there until you wake up." So I'm dying laughin and head pounding. Then the doorbell rang again....another guest arrived. Laid back type girl. So i told her, don't nobody touch the lights....i got a splitting headache. Moscow relays the story to her and we're still laughing. He then leaves to go get his luggage. In the meantime, a third guest arrives from Australia. "Hi, I'm cousin Tom!" he replies. The other guest looked at him like HOW? but then realized that everyone has to introduce themselves as cousins when they come here. All of the guests are pretty much at home and everyone was just getting along. However, New York, a girl that just arrived a couple of days ago to stay for a month, was freaking out a bit. Wh was staying upstairs in my castle. We were like what happened? She explains, "That guy from Pakistan last night was crazy! He was going on and on about 'oh my god, what have i gotten myself into?' He kept asking me a thousand questions about how I go roped into staying here and i answered 'i'm broke'? Then he went about if its safe to leave at 4 in the morning and i told him you need to ask annie. Then he was like, 'oh my god, i'm never coming back to Chicago! At one point he sounded like i was going to rob him!" While she was telling this story, we all pretty much fell out laughing. Pakistan only booked for one night because he had an interview. He literally went to bed at 10 p.m. at which i stayed downstairs to watch tv with another guest since he was turning in early. So he pretty much had the whole room to himself. Moscow comes back with his luggage very happy. So he asked, 'Nonya, whats an Uncle Tom?" I said, "WHAT?" He went on, "you called someboody in your video an Uncle Tom?" OHHHHH.....I had to explain the meaning of me calling this guy on the police video Uncle Tom. The Australian guy caught the last part of the conversation and came into the kitchen and asked, "Yeah, what is an Uncle Tom? I was watching the movie with Eminem and..." as he start rapping the parts of the movie, came across the saying of Uncle Tom! Again we couldn't stop laughing cause he was soooo serious about what that meant. After explaining the cultural meanings, they all nestled into the kitchen where the new girl started to make salsa and the Auzzie asked, 'do you mind if i don't go out tomorrow. I've been out for some days in chicago already and feel very comfortable and just want to hang out." awwwww. So off I went to crash this hangover and take a nap while the new cousins play with each other downstairs.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page