top of page
Featured Posts

Survived the Weekend!

Somehow I managed to over book. The total count was going to be 24....just like the old days! Only this time, we were not all going to be on one floor and spreaded out thru the kitchen on air mattresses....and I wasn't going to be sleeping on the treadmill. But that was not really a consolation. I have come to be used to sleeping on a flat surface called a bed! So to my surprise, I was 4 air mattresses short and was hoping somebody cancelled. It was between the Germans and the French Canadian. Half were betting the Germans (IF they were from the Munich area). We were wrong. The Germans were not from the Munich area. The French, they were not REAL Canadians. They were from France. And if I had known that, my money would have been on them! Those are the only two groups that usually leave or scare easy....France and Munich, Germany. Sorry...just the French. The Germans from Munich are not scared, they just real free with their money and prefer to be closer to Lincoln park...even quite friendly when they cancel and tell you, 'no worries about the money'. Earlier that day, the four from Germany came and dropped their belongings off before heading back out. They were really cool folks. One looked a little skittish but the three were very smiley, friendly and tired. I was still waiting for that last four. I didn't even make them a bed thinking, "well the Germans ain't goin nowhere. So let us hope!" Say no more. I noticed that there was a black car sitting in front of the house. I didn't think that the car belonged to the last four guest from France since it had been there all day and no one had contacted me that they had arrived. So around 9p.m., I get a text. "Hi Nonya, we are at the Halsted station but we decide to walk home," stated the french guy. Now normally, that wouldn't had been a big deal for me. The other guests were playing dominos while listening to some old blues records on the LP, some were cooking and others sleeping. But this is Saturday and the streets could very well be filled with foolish folks. So I decided to go get those kids before the police do. I'm driving down the block slowly looking for signs of white in the area. The first two I see were the crazy funny Canadians drinking beers walking down the street as if it was nice sunny day. They had just past by a bunch of folks ordering chicken at Harolds and the liquor store. I thought to say something to them but then I noticed, at a distance, at the stop light on Morgan, there was a police SUV in the cross section with lights flashing and an undercover car on the side. I couldn't see who they were talking to, at which I drove around them slowly like something out of the movies. There they were! My four white French guests being pulled over by the police! Could it be that I may get my cancellation?! Excited at the thought but cautiously continuing past them, I decided not to make the uturn and pick them up. I knew that the police would bring them home. That had walked halfway from the train to the house. So I quickly drove back to the house and waited on the stairs. The crazy Canadians had just gotten home when I pulled up. I quickly told them what happened and said, 'if they come, you just say, 'hey cousin!' We were laughing. As soon as we sat on the porch, the police pulled up....slowly coming up to the house. They made a u-turn and parked behind the black car. So out come the four guests....clearly skird. The police had left off to what they do best....nothing. "Are you nonya?" the guests asked. "I don't think we will be staying." "awwww....don't let the cops scare you! They say that to all my white guests." I added. "Yeah man, you're fine! We've been here for some days and the neighbors are really nice! They pulled us over to. Don't let them scare you like that!" the crazy canadians said. "Thats ok....we're going to be going", the French said. "Well while you're here, would you like a drink to get the edge off?" I asked. "No, we're just going to go" they added. That's when they got into the black car. So they came early, dropped off their car, walked to the train in the day, was fine with that and decided that it looked ok in the day, then it should be fine in the night? Judging from the sound of their text when they were on their way home, they were excited to walk home. But then they got spooked by the cops. "Don't forget to cancel online to see if you can get something back!" I yelled out, but in my heart I said, 'thanks for the donation'. The rest of the evening was spent in a festive night. I gave the Germans their spots for which they were very happy, took them the megabus the next morning and everyone lived happily ever after.....at least until checkout!

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page